2017 DC McKay Stakes Field, Barriers & Odds

DC McKay Stakes

The DC McKay Stakes is a Group 3 sprint held annually as part of Adelaide’s Autumn Racing Carnival.

Taking place over 1100 metres, the DC McKay Stakes is typically an exciting dash and features the best sprinters in South Australia as well as some interstate travellers.DC McKay Stakes

Special Offer:
Get up to $500 in Bonus Bet* from Ladbrokes

The 2017 DC McKay Stakes will take place on May 6th.

The DC McKay Stakes attracts plenty of interest from serious racegoers who are looking to gain an insight into the horses that may go on to compete in Group 1 Goodwood later in the carnival.

Horses may head into the exciting Group 3 spring on the back of the RN Iriwin Stakes, another black-type event held at Morphetville Racecourse.

The DC McKay Stakes takes place on one of the biggest days of racing in Adelaide for the year, also featuring the Group 1 Robert Sangster Stakes (Sportingbet Classic) and the Group 1 Australasian Oaks (Schweppes Oaks). So while it might not be the Melbourne Cup field running, it is certainly a bumper day of racing.

DC McKay Stakes Facts

  • When: April/May Annually
  • Where: Morphetville Racecourse, Adelaide
  • Distance: 1100m
  • Type: Quality Handicap
  • Group: 3
  • Prize Money: $175,000

Recent Winners

Year Winner
2017 Karacatis
2016 Super One
2015 Thermal Current
2014 Essay Raider
2013 General Truce
2012 Outlandish Lad
2011 Streetcar Magic
2010 Catapulted
2009 I Am Invincible
2008 Idalou
2007 Here De Angels
2006 Shablec
2005 Bomber Bill
2004 Paraca
2003 Super Elegant
2002 Libidinious/Windigo
2001 Surka
2000 Perak Gold


Originally established as a six furlong race (1200m), the DC McKay Stakes was first held in 1968.

Throughout its history, the DC McKay Stakes has changed distances numerous times, having also been previously run over 1450, 1200, 1000 and its current distance of 1100 metres.

Morphetville Racecourse

Morphetville Racecourse, host of the DC McKay Stakes, is South Australia’s premier race track.

The track has a circumference of 2307 metres and the venue provides excellent facilities for spectators.

Apart from hosting the DC McKay Stakes, Morphetville Racecourse is most famous for its Group 1 sprints, the Robert Sangster Stakes and the Goodwood which in 2012 were won by champion mare Black Caviar.

DC McKay Stakes News

Eleven sprinters have been confirmed in the final field for Saturday’s 2016 Group 3 DC McKay Stakes (1100m) at Morphettville Racecourse; offering punters exceptional value from a betting standpoint and several key opportunities to place a winning wager. Super One has not been seen at the races in 2016 but…